Who are we?

The ESNA steering committee is comprised of Rachel Esner (University of Amsterdam), Marjan Sterckx (Ghent University), Mayken Jonkman (Netherlands Institute for Art History), Jenny Reynaerts (Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam), Maite van Dijk (Museum MORE, Gorssel), Jan Dirk Baetens (Radboud University Nijmegen) and Fleur Roos Rosa de Carvalho (Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam). Myrthe Krom (Teylers Museum, Haarlem) has taken up the post of secretary.

Mission Statement

The European Society for Nineteenth-Century Art (ESNA) is a platform formed under the auspices of the Dutch Postgraduate School for Art History (Onderzoekschool Kunstgeschiedenis). ESNA was founded by a group of scholars, graduate students and museum professionals based in the Netherlands whose research focuses on European art of the long nineteenth century. ESNA’s aim is to provide a forum to promote the exchange of ideas in this field, to support and encourage graduate research, and to enhance networking opportunities for participants. ESNA seeks to contribute to, and foster debate on, nineteenth-century art through the organization of an annual symposium, workshops, excursions, the invitation of visiting speakers, and the co-ordination with other organizations and groups devoted to the study of the nineteenth century. Although originating in the Low Countries, ESNA aims to create a broad international network for the advancement of research into all aspects of nineteenth-century European art.

E-mail: esnaonline@hotmail.com

Bank account: NL19 INGB 0008 8483 09
Account holder: European Society for Nineteenth-Century Art

ESNA is registered as a non-profit organization at the Amsterdam Chamber of Commerce, nr. 73408778